I have been hiking in the Seneca park several times a week for the past several years. The park is a hidden gem in the very busy area. And it is in walking distance from my home.

I probably know every trail, every tree, and every corner of this park by now. I took a lot of pictures, but never posted any of them. So, I decided I should amend to my neglect. With this post I am starting a series of posts dedicated to the Seneca park.

This is a real nature park full of wildlife. It is a home for quite a variety of birds, animals, reptiles, and insects, including beavers, deer, coyotes, water rat chipmunks, owls, herons, ducks, etc . They are not  easy to spot, though, unless you keep really quiet. The best time to watch the wildlife is right before or soon after the sunset.

Seneca before snow

The back entrance to the Seneca park the day before the snowstorm (December 29, 2013)

Getting There:

From WASHINGTON, VIRGINIA AND OTHER POINTS SOUTH: I-270 NORTH TOWARDS FREDERICK. TAKE EXIT # 10, CLOPPER ROAD (MD ROUTE # 117 WEST). BEAR TO YOUR RIGHT AT THE LIGHT. CONTINUE THROUGH SIX STOP LIGHTS (APPROX. 2 MILES). SENECA CREEK STATE PARK IS ON THE LEFT.FROM FREDERICK, PENNSYLVANIA AND POINTS NORTH: I-270 SOUTH TOWARDS WASHINGTON, DC TAKE EXIT # 11, (MD ROUTE # 124 WEST). AT THE LIGHT BEAR RIGHT, GO TWO MORE LIGHTS, TURN RIGHT ON TO CLOPPER ROAD. THE PARK IS APPROXIMATELY 1.5 MILES ON THE LEFT.