Tags

,

Here I am starting a series of posts about my Friday evening walks in Seneca park. For about 10 years I have been spending my Friday evenings walking around the Clopper lake. I adopted this park or rather the park adopted me. I love it in any season and in any weather. I love it in long quiet Summer evenings when air stays still and the last stretched sun rays pass through the thick foliage. I love it  in early Autumn, when it picturesque and full of busy rattle. I love it in rainy November days,when it is gloomy and brown. I love it in short Winter evenings, when air is crisp and trees are naked, and one can see very deep into the forest and sometimes spot a deer or two. In those evenings I love to watch how local geese  gather in the lake preparing for night. But I love it the most in Spring when it gets back to life full of flowers and birds.

August 9th, 2013

Today, it was a nice and quiet evening. I saw a couple of little blue herons, one owl and a beaver. The beaver and the owl were quite misanthropic and did not allowed me to picture them, but herons were very cooperative.

Hordeum murinum

Hordeum murinum, also known as foxtail grass, or wall barley, or false barley. It flowers May through July and it matures in August when it gets its foxtail shape

Egretta caerulea

Little blue herons are year-round residents of Maryland, however some individual birds may choose to migrate further south for the winter. This one is definitely a resident of the Seneca park

Little Blue heron

The Little Blue Heron likes to live in warm and shallow marine or freshwater marshes. The Clopper lake is the right environment for this bird. Named for its slate blue plumage, the bird blends in well with its surroundings

Jewelweed (Impatiens Species)

Jewelweed is a common, widespread plant. It is very picturesque and easy to recognize. And it is very helpful for skin irritation. If you break its stem and repeatedly apply the juice to a fresh mosquito bite the itching stops and the bite doesn’t swell. Jewelweed’s juice also relieves bee and wasp stings, although it doesn’t always cure them completely. Reference (http://www.wildmanstevebrill.com/Plants.Folder/Jewelweed.html)

To – Artem and Kate.