Tags

, , , ,

This is my attempt to translate one of the Moomin novels written by Tove Marika Jansson (9 August 1914 – 27 June 2001) – a Swedish-Finnish novelist, painter, illustrator and comic strip author. She is best known as the author of the Moomin books. I read her Moomin stories in Russian translation when I was a child. And since that, I have been fascinated by her stories. You can find more about Tove Marika Jansson on Wikipedia.

I know that some of Moomin novels have already been translated into English. However, when I read  these English translations I had a feeling that something was definitely lost in translation. Unfortunately, I can neither speak Swedish, nor Finnish. Therefore, I choose to use the familiar Russian translation done by V.A. Smirnov (http://lib.ru/JANSSON/mumi-mag.txt) and translate this text into English myself. I tried my best to preserve both: a flavor of this beautiful Russian translation and also a flavor of Moomin-dale.

I am doing this for my own amusement and also to amuse my American friends and to introduce them to Moomin stories and Moomin characters. I also included original drawings made by Tove Jansson in this blog.

  1. Moomin-troll and the Wizard Hat. Introduction
  2. Moomin-troll and the Wizard Hat. Chapter 1
  3. Moomin-troll and the Wizard Hat. Chapter 2